Book Cover – Negotiated Learning Plan

PROPOSED NLP – BOOK COVER

I have decided to create my book cover using the fairy tale theme of snow white. The aim for my book cover is for it to be simple and elegant. I intend to shoot artificial snowflakes on a white colourama in the studio shooting the image from above. This will give me a background and basis for my book cover so the background is not just flat and plain.

For the front page I intend to shoot a simple shot of cupped hands holding a red apple.  I will do this in the studio using a white reflector as a cut of point across the wrists. I will later manipulate the image to give it a dreamy cloudy affect. This image will sit centre on the front page with the title at the top of the page. The typography of the title will be SNOW WHITE – Harrington Font or SNOW WHITE – Monotype Corsiva Font.  My preference would be the Harrington Font.

For the back cover I intend to shoot an image of the wicked stepmother in the studio in costume. I intend to look at costume and fancy dress hire shops to find a suitable costume. The wicked stepmother will be holding an old fashioned ornate hand mirror. She will be holding this up in the air with her left hand and my aim will be to shoot the image with her reflection in the mirror. This image will sit on the bottom left hand side of the back page.  Also on the back of the cover will be book reviews and blurb about the book along with a QR code which will be redirect to my blog about the book cover was created.

On the spine of the book at the top will be a small image of the hands/apple image and the title running horizontal down the spine. On the left inside flap will be a portrait of me the author and a small bio about myself.

Once I have my final three images I intend to layer the three images in Photoshop CS6 to create my book cover.  I have yet to research how this is done as I never manipulated three images into one.

IDEAS

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 15.38.13

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 15.40.08

http://stuffpoint.com/fantasy/image/341968/the-brothers-

Screen Shot 2014-02-14 at 15.39.36

arahhyde3.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/brothers-grimm-book-cover.html

 

Leave a Reply

